GideonTech.com Forums

  • August 16, 2022, 10:55:21 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: VooDoo 5500 under Win2k  (Read 5891 times)

Antacus

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 827
VooDoo 5500 under Win2k
« on: August 06, 2001, 01:56:00 PM »

I noticed a lil quirk when poking around my system the other night. At post the 5500 card confirms I have 64mb ram. But when I look in windows it says I only have 32mb. I am guessing this is due to a poor driver (that sadly will not be updated).

My laser printer had the same problem but I was able to just increase the ram in the printer driver. Anyone know if I can get winblows to show the true amount of memory the card has?
Logged

Antacus

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 827
VooDoo 5500 under Win2k
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2001, 02:01:00 PM »

Guess I should add some specs eh?

IWill kk266 W/AMD 1.333ghz
1gb ram @ 7.5ns
3DFX VooDoo 5 5500
Maxtor udma100 HDD card
2- 40gb udma 100 (Segate/Maxtor)
Soundblaster Live (original 2 slot card)
Netgear 10/100 PCI
12x DVD, 12x10x32 Burner

Runnin Win2k w/sp2 (have all the lastest updates)
Using MS VooDoo 5500 driver (not the old 3DFX one)
Logged

winterstick

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
    • http://winterstick.tk
VooDoo 5500 under Win2k
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2001, 02:25:00 PM »

yeah the voodoo 5 5500 cards always say they got 32 megs in windows... dunno why
Logged

Element_1

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
    • http://www.mp3.com/derekwright
VooDoo 5500 under Win2k
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2001, 07:07:00 PM »

wasnt their a prob w/ this and having the old 3000/2000 drivers installed and updating ..that i t didnt read the card right?...:::shrug::: other than that maybe its because its 32MB per GPU
Logged

Antacus

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 827
VooDoo 5500 under Win2k
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2001, 09:05:00 PM »

I never owned a 2000/3000 card. Plus this is a fresh install of win2k. Formated the hdd during the install. Windows detected it as a VooDoo 5500 and installed the drivers. Now, that does not mean that the MS drivers are not jsut updated 2k/3k VooDoo drivers ....
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.092 seconds with 34 queries.