GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 02, 2022, 11:34:16 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about upgrade  (Read 3944 times)

freakguyhb

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Question about upgrade
« on: August 10, 2008, 01:35:05 AM »

I have been using the same parts for years and they are failing. The parts in my sig are being replaced with:
GIGABYTE GA-M61PME-S2 AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 / nForce 430 Motherboard
pqi TURBO 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) memory
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor
SAPPHIRE 1010 Radeon HD 2600XT 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
I was wondering if anyone knows if these will all work together because this is just at my budget and i really need to upgrade.
Logged
Athlon64 X2 5000
Biostar TF720 A2+
logysis dracula
4gb G. Skill ddr2 800
seagate 320 + 2x80gb hard drives
Arctic Freezer 64pro
Pioneer dvd-rw
431wt enermax whisper
2x 19" LCD monitors
kick-ass Harmon\Kardon Speaker System

Hak Foo

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +12/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,779
  • Far too old for his interests
Re: Question about upgrade
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2008, 02:57:42 AM »

One thing I'd check is your PSU-- both if it physically has a P4 plug and if it's got a decent wattage breakdown.

+50 amperes on the +3.3 and +5 rails was good for the old K7 boards, but a lot less if you plan to go with a modern setup; they prefer loads of +12v.

You might consider an AMD 780G board instead of the Geforce 6100-- and putting off the discrete video card.  The latest AMD 7xx chipsets have much better integrated video than anything else out there.
Logged

freakguyhb

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Question about upgrade
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2008, 03:22:40 AM »

i plan to build a new pc altogether when i can save up the money but this is to hold me till then. My power supply will get replaced around a month after the upgrade but do you think 20 amps is enough on the 12 volt line to last that long and it is equipped with p4 power
Logged
Athlon64 X2 5000
Biostar TF720 A2+
logysis dracula
4gb G. Skill ddr2 800
seagate 320 + 2x80gb hard drives
Arctic Freezer 64pro
Pioneer dvd-rw
431wt enermax whisper
2x 19" LCD monitors
kick-ass Harmon\Kardon Speaker System

freakguyhb

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Question about upgrade
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2008, 10:36:49 PM »

I have to upgade by the way because i am having different failures and problems every time i use it the motherboard is complete junk and id give it about a week before it dies
Logged
Athlon64 X2 5000
Biostar TF720 A2+
logysis dracula
4gb G. Skill ddr2 800
seagate 320 + 2x80gb hard drives
Arctic Freezer 64pro
Pioneer dvd-rw
431wt enermax whisper
2x 19" LCD monitors
kick-ass Harmon\Kardon Speaker System

freakguyhb

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Question about upgrade
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2008, 04:25:19 PM »

nevermind most power supplies i looked at only had 18 amps on the 12 volt line so it should be good.
Logged
Athlon64 X2 5000
Biostar TF720 A2+
logysis dracula
4gb G. Skill ddr2 800
seagate 320 + 2x80gb hard drives
Arctic Freezer 64pro
Pioneer dvd-rw
431wt enermax whisper
2x 19" LCD monitors
kick-ass Harmon\Kardon Speaker System

bliq

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +6/-6
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,901
Re: Question about upgrade
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2008, 06:40:50 PM »

what's your budget?  maybe we can put something better together for you.  And most importantly, do you have a Fry's near you?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.051 seconds with 33 queries.