GideonTech.com Forums

  • August 16, 2022, 08:02:43 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: overspinning a hard drive  (Read 3118 times)

64-bit-rules

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
overspinning a hard drive
« on: July 10, 2004, 10:22:42 PM »

hey, i got some old 1 gb hard drives from a friend, and i found some more in the dumpster, but only 1 works, and i want to try to make them spin really fast, so i can put stuff on them and spin it, whatever, i just like stuff which spins really fast

so, can someone tell me some websites that show me how to do it, what to modify, etc

i googled but i couldnt find anything

dont worry, i know not to do it to my good hard drive, i know it corrupts data and your hard drive can burn up and explode (hey, good idea)

or tell me how to do it if you know
Logged

YucA

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +9/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,602
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2004, 10:32:36 PM »

WHHHHHHHAAAAAAAT!?
Logged

bruno8747

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,241
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2004, 10:51:36 PM »

Wow sounds fun.....If you do get it to work remember to make a video.

Maybe you could step up the 12v and 5v and see if that works.
Logged

64-bit-rules

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2004, 10:55:31 PM »

yea i was thinking of putting some extra voltage through the wires, but im scared ill burn the IC's on it, but ofcourse, they are garbage anyways

does the 12v line go to the motor?
Logged

gilgalad1138

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,080
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2004, 11:21:34 PM »

Quote
does the 12v line go to the motor?


Only one way to find out! :D

I think that both lines go to the motor, giving it 17v. I mean, what else is there in a hard drive to power? I have heard of people doing this though. If it gets too hot you could try this http://www.bbspot.com/News/2004/05/bbspot_labs_ice_drive.html. And this may help keep it running smoothly http://www.bbspot.com/News/2004/05/bbspot_labs_whining_hard_drive.html.

Oh, and read this while you're at it. http://www.bbspot.com/News/2004/05/radeon_x800_vs_geforce_6800.html - its one of the most popularly quoted and plagerized reviews on the net.
Logged
Because bones heal and chicks dig scars.

64-bit-rules

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2004, 11:59:32 PM »

LMFAOROFL

that video card compare thing is funny, but i'm getting the X800 just because i dont have a 500 watt psu

but back on topic, CAN SOMEONE PLEEEEEEEEEESEEE FIND SOME WEBSITES ABOUT OVERSPINNING A HARD DRIVE!!??!?!\

EDIT:

quote
"what else is there in a hard drive to power?"
quote

ummm, the controllers and data to ide converters, and the other ics that work, and the needles and other crap...
Logged

BalefireX

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,839
  • http://pics.aran.ws
    • pics.aran.ws
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2004, 12:08:21 AM »

Find the wires that go to the motor, and overvolt them.  (12-15v will probably work fine, 15-20 if you want to risk frying it)
Logged


64-bit-rules

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2004, 12:14:20 AM »

the motor is an ac motor, with 4 pins

...to think i wouldnt have thought of that yet...

thats what i need, i need to find out where the dc is that goes into the dc-to-ac converter
Logged

64-bit-rules

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2004, 12:20:36 AM »

i tried putting 12vdc into the yellow wire input, but it doesnt work
i guess you need the 5vdc also for the controllers
Logged

gilgalad1138

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,080
overspinning a hard drive
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2004, 12:43:59 AM »

What you need to do is find out what WD did to the raptors to run them at 10K. I'll talk to my uncle. He's in charge of IT at a bank, takes care of all their servers and stuff. He should know why the drives run at 15K. If he ever stops complaining about how his comany just spent 20 grand on a 74gb raid setup. I'm willing to bet that all they do is apply more voltage.

My advice, take another molex, wire it into the OC'd HD's molex, with a resistor.
Logged
Because bones heal and chicks dig scars.
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.057 seconds with 34 queries.