GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 06, 2022, 07:24:11 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FSB of Athlon 64 3200+  (Read 928 times)

64-bit-rules

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
FSB of Athlon 64 3200+
« on: July 02, 2004, 09:09:03 PM »

wasssssuuuuppp

ok i have the Athlon 64 3200+ and i keep seeing EVERYWHERE that it says the FSB of those is 1600 mhz...wtf

in my BIOS, i cant change the multiplier, but i can change the fsb, and its default to 200, so how can it be 1600mhz???

do i have a f'ed up processor or something?
Logged

gilgalad1138

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,080
FSB of Athlon 64 3200+
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2004, 09:13:52 PM »

I'm not entirely sure how this works, but that 200fsb is the one you can overclock. Like my 2200 has a fsb of 133, but actually runs at 266, as appose to the 2500 which runs at 333... Hope this helps, somehow.
Logged
Because bones heal and chicks dig scars.

BalefireX

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,839
  • http://pics.aran.ws
    • pics.aran.ws
FSB of Athlon 64 3200+
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2004, 09:15:06 PM »

Because the Athlon 64 chips have an onboard memory controller, the "FSB" doesnt work the same way as on a processor where the memory controller is part of the northbridge.  The correct RAM clock for A64s is 200 (DDR400) which is what your BIOS is allowing you to adjust.  The 1600MHz referred to on sites is the Hypertransport Bus Speed.
Logged


gilgalad1138

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,080
FSB of Athlon 64 3200+
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2004, 09:52:13 PM »

YES!! That's what I was trying to say. Thanks Bale...
Logged
Because bones heal and chicks dig scars.

64-bit-rules

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
FSB of Athlon 64 3200+
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2004, 10:26:34 PM »

so this hypertransport thing is the bus speed at which the processor is linked to the memory controller?
Logged

BalefireX

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,839
  • http://pics.aran.ws
    • pics.aran.ws
FSB of Athlon 64 3200+
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2004, 10:39:54 PM »

Hypertransport is reasonably complex, but this page might help your understanding:
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1558,1156822,00.asp

or you can always check www.hypertransport.org
Logged


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.062 seconds with 34 queries.