GideonTech.com Forums

  • December 11, 2019, 08:56:53 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mounting another power supply.  (Read 4274 times)

j0m

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • http://www.syntheticmonkey.com
Mounting another power supply.
« on: August 08, 2001, 12:09:00 PM »

I've been wanting to throw another power supply in my computer so I can power all my silly add-ons seperately, and so I can run my fans for a bit after shutdown to cycle warm air out of the case better.

How the heck would I go about putting the damn thing inside the case? I've got a mid-tower, and it doesn't have unlimited room in it. I might be able put it between my HD and my front intake hole.... but I dunno.

Has anyone else done this? If so, how? Thanks!
Logged

RZSupraTRD

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
    • http://positiveage.50megs.com
Mounting another power supply.
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2001, 03:01:00 PM »

some places that are options:

2 or 3 empty 5.25 bays.
if you have to room...behind the case bolted onto it
stood on its side underneath the harddrive next to the front intake...if there's enough room
Logged

Antacus

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 827
Mounting another power supply.
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2001, 05:50:00 PM »

I been thinking about bolting it to the top. Then making some type of plastic enclosure that is a smooth fit to the main case. Paint it all the same color and poof. done.
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
Mounting another power supply.
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2001, 10:34:00 PM »

If you're looking to just add more power to accessories (fans, neons, etc.), why not just buy one of those mini power supplies from Jameco, BGMicro, Allelectronics and use that instead of jamming a full PSU into your system???

They have power supplies that can pump out 30VDC for about $20 USD.  You can wire a simple switch and you have a power supply.  As for the 120VAC input, you can always rig it to the input of the main PSU's 120VAC input.  It's just a simple soldering job.
Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.

CFlux

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Mounting another power supply.
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2001, 10:55:00 PM »

I agree look at surplus stores for dc psu's you can get some nice ones cheep at mpja.com
Logged

Peyote

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
Mounting another power supply.
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2001, 12:31:00 AM »

ok I'm looking for the same thing just a psu to power my fans can you point me somewhere on that site because I don't know what I'm looking for there.
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
Mounting another power supply.
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2001, 03:03:00 PM »

You can try BGMicro - http://www.bgmicro.com - or Jameco - http://www.jameco.com

Just look at power supplies, and see if you find one that meets your needs.  
Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.

squalor

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
    • http://www.geocities.com/squalor_ed/UGTECH.html
Mounting another power supply.
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2001, 03:55:00 AM »

I have a mid tower too. I use this PS (that is, I will when my mod's done)
http://www.compgeeks.com/details.asp?invtid=6500337 Only $2.45 for a 145W PS, and it's ATX.
Logged

TitoJackson

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Mounting another power supply.
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2001, 07:09:00 PM »

Wow, if nothing else, rip that thing open for the fan in there.  You could also have it be an external power supply, that'd probalby be much easier.  
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.062 seconds with 19 queries.