GideonTech.com Forums

  • July 11, 2020, 05:48:48 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Temperature  (Read 7313 times)

CoDe_MaStEr_JoN

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
Temperature
« on: August 07, 2001, 10:34:00 PM »

My new mother board came with a programe ASUS PC Probe and it monitors the temperatuer of everything
i wanted to know what would be a good idle temp for the processor, cpu, .........ect
and what temp it should never get to
thx
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
Temperature
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2001, 11:10:00 PM »

Uh....since I don't know what your CPU is, I'll give you a generic temp reading.

Idle - maybe 25-30C.
Full - 32-39C.

Should never get close to 50-60C.

That's just my guess.  I have no idea for your CPU.  I'm going with my CPU.

Why Celcius?  Because my TempNurse reading is in Celcius.  33 C = 91.4F, I think.
Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.

winterstick

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
    • http://winterstick.tk
Temperature
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2001, 11:22:00 PM »

those would be pretty good readings for a intel and great readings for a tbird, generally tbirds are around 30-40C idle, and 42-48 full load.
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
Temperature
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2001, 11:32:00 PM »

Yup, that's what I'm running with.  My old P3 733.  Waiting for my "free" P4 1.7, but not until the new chipset is introduced that allows SDRAM and DDR.  Hey, why waste all my RAM for RAMBUS?
Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.

winterstick

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
    • http://winterstick.tk
Temperature
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2001, 11:49:00 PM »

uhhh... why a p4?
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
Temperature
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2001, 12:16:00 AM »

Cause it's free!  That and the fact that I've had a problem with AMD before.

I know it was early in AMD's life, but when I got an OLD K6 chip, and it crapped out on me, AMD said I f*cked it up, and wouldn't help me.  So, I said, SCREW YOU!  After that, AMD has left a bad taste in my mouth, like intel has for others.

I am impressed with AMD and intel chips, but FREE always wins.   :)
Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.

winterstick

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
    • http://winterstick.tk
Temperature
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2001, 12:24:00 AM »

yeah, Iw as having soem issues with my tbird, but they have smoothed out...
Logged

CoDe_MaStEr_JoN

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
Temperature
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2001, 07:32:00 AM »

also what about my processor temp it is an AMD ATHLON 1.2
thx
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
Temperature
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2001, 11:56:00 AM »

For your AMD TBird, follow Winter's guidelines.
Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.

Antacus

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 827
Temperature
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2001, 05:47:00 PM »

My 1.333ghz runs 43C idel 49C loaded.

A 1.4ghz I setup fopr a friend ran 45C idel 52C loaded.

Now my 2 side comments:
1) this is in a hot room (87F)
2) those temps are DD5 direct con tact temps, the mobo reads a LOT lower temps.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 33 queries.