GideonTech.com Forums

  • May 23, 2017, 11:15:03 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6   Go Down

Author Topic: Guide: Powering Up a PSU  (Read 57631 times)

Peyote

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2001, 02:57:00 AM »

winter you coulda turned around and sold them for 15 bucks on the net and make 10 bucks profit
Logged

winterstick

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
    • http://winterstick.tk
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2001, 02:35:00 PM »

yeah, or I could of had 5-10 psu that no one wants...
Logged

Antacus

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 827
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2001, 08:30:00 AM »

Any reason why you just don't swap to a large psu?

I upgraded from a 250w to a 431w Enermax and it seems to handle everything just fine.
Logged

Generalboy

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2001, 11:23:00 AM »

good article, but it fails to take into account that ~some~ ATX powersupplies won't switch on unless the Pwr_Good signal is also present. Although all it requires is joining one of the +5v lines to the Pwr_Good line (usually grey).
Logged

maxkorn

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2001, 07:06:00 AM »

usually i just use a 250w at psu since many are lying around at my workplace.  but for an atx, you can permanently cross the power on and ground lines and use the 115v-230v switch on the back if no power switch.  most cheap psu's dont have the components in them for 230v so switching from 115v to 230v will usually leave the ac circuit open (psu off.)
Logged

Caleb_2

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2001, 11:07:00 AM »

Hi everybody,
I thought this article could solve the problem with powering up my atx psu but somehow it still doesn't work. its a no-name (and also no-switch) 250w. when I connect the green and black cables it gives a high pitched buzz for maybe half a sec and then the fan I connected to it starts to move and after about a second it powers down again. if i connect the purple cable to a black cable it will just give an even higher pitched buzz without giving power to the fan.
now there is one thing: the fan inside of the psu is disconnected and connected to another psu. could this be the culprit?
Logged

brutal

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,413
    • http://www.brutal.tk
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2001, 11:04:00 PM »

gideonx,
very nice. my question is does that connection do any damage to the atx connector so you cant use it someday on a mobo? btw can the other wires for be used for anything else?
Logged

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,460
    • GideonTech.com
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2001, 11:26:00 PM »

shoulnd't cause any problems, unless of course u decide to solder them in :D
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

General Gossip

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 74
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #18 on: August 07, 2001, 04:18:00 AM »

an alternative way to do this is to connect the green wire on your second psu to the green wire on the psu that connects to the motherboard... I did this with mine, and it works great.. plus they power up/shuts down  simultaneously
of course this will "ruin" both psus a bit, but who cares?
Logged

holinc

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
    • http://www.holinc.com
Guide: Powering Up a PSU
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2001, 08:22:00 AM »

But what if I have numerous old AT-psu's? Their connectors are a bit different, which cables do I jump there?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 19 queries.