GideonTech.com Forums

• June 18, 2018, 03:51:07 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Repeating wifi signal @ work  (Read 4263 times)

ice_man

• Senior Modder
Repeating wifi signal @ work
« on: June 17, 2011, 10:50:19 PM »

Been a while since I've posted here....and after looking at my join date, it has been a long time since 2003, hah. 

I have been working at a remote location in AK for the last 6 years, and just recently got the OK from our higher-ups in Chevron to purchase a repeater for our wifi signal.  The purpose of this would be to shoot the signal about 150 yards to our construction man-camp for the crews when they are on site.  My question is, what all am I looking at having to buy to make this work?  We do have LOS to the camp from our quarters, so I'm guessing I might need a vertical repeater that is directed straight at the camp area?  Any suggestions and ideas would be awesome.
Dominating faces even in the Arctic.

GideonX

• Administrator
  • Elite Modder
    • GideonTech.com
Re: Repeating wifi signal @ work
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2011, 07:27:32 AM »

You may need a few access points in between to act as a bridge since 150 feet may be too far for an amp'd high gain ant.

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

ice_man

• Senior Modder
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2011, 08:23:33 AM »

After looking at some repeaters and reading up a bit, I have found a few that look just like our radio shot communications towers out here.  Granted that our microwave is probably a bit more powerful (and expensive) than a typical wifi repeater, it seems to be using the same concept of shooting the signal directly at the designated area.  These units are boasting "up to 1 mile away range, typically used for large parks and such".