GideonTech.com Forums

• August 24, 2019, 07:41:09 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: buying my first DSLR  (Read 8898 times)

urgannagru

• Elite Modder
buying my first DSLR
« on: April 08, 2009, 09:57:21 PM »

I know we have more than a few photographers around here

I'm looking into getting a prosumer DSLR. Ideally (at my budget range, which really isn't much) I think I want to buy a Sony a350, but the price point on an a200 is really, really, really tempting (<$400). I am thinking I might end up buying an a200 and spending the savings on some good lenses, because everyone says that the lens makes a world of difference.

I would miss the live-view if I bought the a200, but I also know that I can easily live without it. My first question is how much would I miss having the extra 4MP? Is 10MP enough?

My next problem is that I have no experience in buying lenses and have no idea what to look for. Should I ask around at a local shop and see what they say? I know there are good shops around here for used lenses (I'm also aware of the potential disasters of a used lens).

Although I am leaning towards Sony (I have loved every Sony camera I have owned, which is more than I can say for any other brand), I'm open to the idea of buying another Canon, but would really prefer a system with built in IS, and Canons tend to be expensive.

Nikon is a no-go
Pentax = maybe
Panasonic = maybe
Olympus = probably not

PS: I have shot lots of photos, have a good understanding of terms, and always shoot in RAW if possible.
PPS: This is my first purchased for me DSLR. I have worked with a few Canons and a Nikon.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2009, 10:06:15 PM by urgannagru »

chase!

• Elite Modder
  • The Internet!
Re: buying my first DSLR
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2009, 02:59:29 AM »