GideonTech.com Forums

• November 21, 2017, 10:48:39 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Connecting normal cordless phone to computer  (Read 16509 times)

Chris

• Senior Modder
Connecting normal cordless phone to computer
« on: March 19, 2008, 10:20:14 AM »

I believe this is my first project on here.  Although it's small, it's extremely useful to me.  Well, to start off, I use Skype as my main phone since I don't have a landline or cell phone.  The Skype Pro package is $60 for a year and it includes unlimited outgoing calls in the US and Canada, incoming phone calls, phone number, caller ID, call waiting, voicemail plus $12.00 in Skype credits for calls outside the US (or ~2 cents a minute in the US after the year is up).  I do have a wired headset but that restricts me to ~10 foot radius around the computer and I have a bluetooth headset with adapter, but after you get so far it starts echoing really bad.  So, I took it upon myself to surf the web to find a better solution and i came across this: http://www.chat-cord.com/  It's a device so that you can connect any ordinary landline phone to your computer and utilize it with Skype or other phone services.  Well the only problem with the chat-cord is that it costs money and my goal was to spend as little or no money.  So after a bit of surfing i found this: http://www.grynx.com/projects/siemens-skype/  After reading the tutorial, I didn't really feel comfortable poking around the inside of the phone to find the mic and speaker connections.  So after even further investigation, I came across this http://www.vital.pri.ee/PSTN/  Definitely seemed like something easy to do and greatest thing is, my dad had all the parts needed.  I don't have any in progress pics, but you can get the jist. 

The schematic I used:

I didn't have any 300Ohm resistors, so I opted for 6 100Ohm resistors.

The innards: