GideonTech.com Forums

• June 18, 2018, 03:46:12 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CCENT or CCNA?  (Read 4520 times)

nobody

• Senior Modder
CCENT or CCNA?
« on: February 26, 2008, 01:08:25 AM »

Looks like it's about that time in my career that I need some form of certification. It'd be a little silly to get an A+ or N+ at this point and I want to move more into infrastructure anyways, I was thinking about the cisco certs. I can't decide on if I want to go for the ccent or the ccna right off the bat. The problem being I've got no experience with the Cisco IOS and I have no time to take any classes that would give me access to a router lab. Any thoughts?

merlinicorpus

• Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • One with the corn.
    • merliniworks
Re: CCENT or CCNA?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 03:57:52 PM »

If you're interested in going into networking the CCNET is the obvious place to start.  If you have experience, you can probably skip right to the CCNA.  I picked up my CCNA a few years ago, and while it was a really intense course, it wasn't hard stuff.  We have one of the top Cisco Academies here where I go to school (it was the very first one in fact) so it seemed like something worth having.  If you can't get access to a router lab, Cisco makes some really good simulator programs.  That said, nothing beats working with the actual gear.

bliq

• Elite Modder
Re: CCENT or CCNA?
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 05:52:53 PM »