GideonTech.com Forums

  • December 14, 2019, 01:06:25 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...  (Read 8525 times)

To-mod-or-not-to-mod

  • Guest
WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« on: November 12, 2006, 04:51:43 PM »

Ok, I've recently purchases a Linksys Wireless G Broadband Router (WRT54G) and can't get it to work! I purchased a Linksys Wireless G USB Network Adaptor (WUSB54GS-UK) which can connect to it perfectly AND view the router configuration page. My PC that is linked to it via ethernet can also connect to see this page.

But neither can access the internet... it just acts like im not connected. Infact, on the Laptop it says "Connected to Access Point But cant connect to internet" (Or words to that effect...).

My Cable ISP, NTL seem to be compatable as I've only read good things about this set up. AND, in the shop it even said "Perfect for NTL customers...". It appears the defualt DHCP settings should work fine, and according to the NTL webpage about wireless networks;

Quote
You must first register your cable modem or set top box before setting up a Home Network.

You do not require a Domain name, Username or Password to gain access to the ntl Broadband service.
Usernames and Passwords are only used for the ntlworld email service and will be generated when you first register for ntl Broadband.

ntl has Dynamic IP addresses (assigned by DHCP). You do not have to specify an IP as directed by some manufacturers.

The ntl DNS servers do not have to be specified within the router as directed by some manufacturers.

You do not need the ntl Broadband installer disk during the set up of your router.

You do not have to clone your MAC address with the ntl Broadband system.

You can connect as many computers to your router as specified by your router manufacturer.

Well I havent messed about with hostnames or passwords or anything. Everything is ok according to that...

So why wouldnt the internet be getting through the router?
Logged

I LOVE ED

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +58018/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,619
  • I am this forum's personal El Guapo
    • x24
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2006, 04:56:32 PM »

on the PC side of things, check if your network adapter's IP properties have your router's IP address (like 192.168.1.1) as your default gateway.  Then, look at your router's DNS'es and copy those to your network adapter's preferred DNS server addresses.  That usually fixes my is-networked-but-can't-internet problems.
Logged
My latest hobby: Down-voting QDB quotes from #geekissues.

BalefireX

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,839
  • http://pics.aran.ws
    • pics.aran.ws
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2006, 04:58:49 PM »

Clone the MAC address from the PC that was previously connected to the Cable Modem onto the Router.  There should be a feature to allow you to do this if you log into the Router's settings.  I know they say you don't have to do this, but with the MAC address cloned, the internet often magically starts to work.
Logged


To-mod-or-not-to-mod

  • Guest
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2006, 05:06:37 PM »

on the PC side of things, check if your network adapter's IP properties have your router's IP address (like 192.168.1.1) as your default gateway.  Then, look at your router's DNS'es and copy those to your network adapter's preferred DNS server addresses.  That usually fixes my is-networked-but-can't-internet problems.

Very good idea, I'll try that tomorrow. A bit tired now.. I do get a 192.*.*.* IP address for the router (Not a 196...) though.

Quote from: BalefireX
Clone the MAC address from the PC that was previously connected to the Cable Modem onto the Router.  There should be a feature to allow you to do this if you log into the Router's settings.  I know they say you don't have to do this, but with the MAC address cloned, the internet often magically starts to work.

I tried this.. Atleast I'm *sure* I did.

* To-mod-or-not-to-mod adds it to his list of stuff to try tomorrow

Thanks guys.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2006, 05:08:48 PM by To-mod-or-not-to-mod »
Logged

Warlok

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 294
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2006, 05:30:18 PM »

Try using a Static IP on the wireless connections. I had to do that with one of my Linksys routers and never had a problem since then.
Logged

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,462
    • GideonTech.com
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2006, 05:31:54 PM »

You try resetting your cable modem with the router attached?
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

Dave303

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +26/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,796
  • Thats MR. Slacker to you
    • MalatoryMods
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2006, 05:54:20 PM »

Quick Check list.

Make sure you are connecting to the WAN Port of the back of the router to the cable modem.

Make sure you are still using the same cable from the Modem to the router that you had from the PC to the modem.

Reset like GideonX said.

Make sure you have the WAN light active on the router
Logged
Now live in the Twin cities.

Aglar

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +8/-4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,557
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2006, 06:19:15 PM »

You try resetting your cable modem with the router attached?
Yes. Often when installing a new piece of network gear I just play it safe and reset every connected device, always works.
Logged

To-mod-or-not-to-mod

  • Guest
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2006, 10:41:22 AM »

Try using a Static IP on the wireless connections. I had to do that with one of my Linksys routers and never had a problem since then.

Its not just Wireless connections that don't work.

Quote from: GideonX
You try resetting your cable modem with the router attached?

Because its a set-top box, I can only restart it. Not reset it as such - but yes, I have tried that.

Quote from: Dave303
Make sure you are connecting to the WAN Port of the back of the router to the cable modem.

Make sure you are still using the same cable from the Modem to the router that you had from the PC to the modem.

Reset like GideonX said.

Make sure you have the WAN light active on the router.

Its not a cable problem as I can connect to the router... And surprisingly, Yes, The Internet light is on.

Heres ipconfig /all running NOW (i.e With the set top box connected, NOT the router)

Code: [Select]
C:\Documents and Settings\Fergus>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DOWNSTAIRS-MAIN
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet8:

<Snip>

Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet1:

<Snip>

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge (Network Bridge) 5:

        Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-FF-5F-08-02-2A

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN Network Driver
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-8A-00-00-11
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.*.*
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : EZ Connect USB to Dual Speed Ethernet Converter
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-E2-F0-68-5C
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 86.18.*.*
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 86.18.*.*
        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.185.*.*
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
                                            194.168.8.100
        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 13 November 2006 15:32:03
        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 17 November 2006 12:00:55

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: (Coincidentally - What the f*** is this? Its only come up today...)

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : ?
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
        NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Fergus>

Shall post what it says with the router in a mo...

EDIT:

It appears my problem has fixed itself... I turned of the STB and the router. Connected them up, turned the STB on, Waited until it was finished booting. Turned the router on... waited for it to finish starting up. Then ran these commands... (As I had yesterday...)

Code: [Select]
C:\Documents and Settings\Fergus>ipconfig /renew

Windows IP Configuration

No operation can be performed on Network Bridge (Network Bridge) 5 while it has
its media disconnected.
An error occurred while renewing interface Local Area Connection 5 : unable to c
ontact your DHCP server. Request has timed out.

Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet8:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet1:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.124.1
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge (Network Bridge) 5:

        Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.101.152
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : ?
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Fergus>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DOWNSTAIRS-MAIN
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet8:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for
VMnet8
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-56-C0-00-08
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet1:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for
VMnet1
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-56-C0-00-01
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.124.1
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Network Bridge (Network Bridge) 5:

        Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : MAC Bridge Miniport
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-FF-5F-08-02-2A

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN Network Driver
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-8A-00-00-11
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.101.152
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : EZ Connect USB to Dual Speed Etherne
t Converter
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-E2-F0-68-5C
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
                                            194.168.8.100
        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 13 November 2006 16:26:55
        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 14 November 2006 16:26:55

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : ?
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
        NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Fergus>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [64.233.187.99] with 32 bytes of data:

Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 64.233.187.99:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

Now despite the ping failure at the end, I can browse the net and use MSN perfectly! Now just to check the laptop...

EDIT 2:
Just powered the laptop on, and on my Main PC I get this...


* To-mod-or-not-to-mod looks at the routers user list...

EDIT 3: Appears that the Router (Using Internal IP 192.168.1.1 gave my Main PC 192.168.1.1, So I've changed it so that it will DHCP from 192.168.1.101)

EDIT 4: Modifying the above IP address sorted that problem out. I've just done a few broadband speed checks and they are all like this one, which is about right for my connection;



So this is the Main PC sorted out. I used the laptop a second ago and got google + UK MSN but then it stopped...

Then I'll restart it all to make sure it wasn't luck!  :)
« Last Edit: November 13, 2006, 12:10:40 PM by To-mod-or-not-to-mod »
Logged

Dave303

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +26/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,796
  • Thats MR. Slacker to you
    • MalatoryMods
Re: WRT54G and Cable (NTL) - Not routing...
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2006, 10:02:43 PM »

Sounds like your using static IP address and both machines are using the same one.
Logged
Now live in the Twin cities.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.091 seconds with 19 queries.