GideonTech.com Forums

  • December 15, 2019, 06:34:28 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: getting power to my lcd?  (Read 1181 times)

SpiritSlayer

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
getting power to my lcd?
« on: March 18, 2006, 05:20:30 PM »

im using the lcd and controller board from a portable pioner dvd player
i jsut striped out all the useless dvd related stuff and kept the necessities.
i need to get a 9.5v at 3amps to the input on the dvd player board and dont wanna use the convertor box thing
my question is... whats the best way to supply it power from the inside of the case without running additional power.

-SpiritSlayer-
Logged

Hak Foo

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +12/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,779
  • Far too old for his interests
Re: getting power to my lcd?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2006, 08:26:45 PM »

3 amperes is a pretty high draw.

Did it come with a car (cigarette-lighter) adapter?  Might use that, put 12 volts on it.
Logged

wonko

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +47/-101
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,320
  • April 4, 2009
Re: getting power to my lcd?
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2006, 02:25:28 PM »

Well I could be wrong, but I would guess that 3 amps was the TOTAL draw for the DVD player when it was in one peice.  My suggestion is to do a google search on the exact LCD and controller you have to get the specs.  I think the best way to go (simple and failsafe) would be to use the converter that came with it.  You could make a 9.5v PSU, but I would be concerned that if it really draw that many amps you could run into problems.  Another alternative is to look for a 12v adapter, but I think you'll have a hard time finding one that will supply 3 amps.
Logged
Today, the choice is mine.

Hak Foo

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +12/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,779
  • Far too old for his interests
Re: getting power to my lcd?
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2006, 03:21:17 PM »

You might try using a regulator to throttle 12v down to 9.5, or at least 9.0v.  Probably needs a big regulator, or one with a heatsink, perhaps you can bolt it to a metal part of the case.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.068 seconds with 20 queries.