GideonTech.com Forums

  • July 03, 2020, 03:33:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: (2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?  (Read 3812 times)

bruno8747

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,241
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« on: April 11, 2005, 05:51:34 PM »

Quick question: I want to hook up some car audio equipment and I need some info on wire sizes. I want to run 4 gauge wire in the car but all I have is 8 gauge. Now what I want to know is if I run 2 pieces of 4 gauge in parallel from the battery to the amps what gauge wire would I get? Would I get 6 gauge or 4 gauge?
Logged

Shiz

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,644
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2005, 06:14:03 PM »

i'm confused with your topic and your post. what i think you are saying is that if you run 2 4 gague lines will it equal 8 gague total? Correct me if i am wrong.

edit: sh*t i feel so dumb. i forgot the higher the gauge, the smaller the wire. lo siento!!!
Logged

Chris

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +3/-4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 930
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2005, 06:24:52 PM »

He's trying to ask if he puts 2 8 gauge wires together will it equal a 4 gauge and i believe the answer is yes.
Logged
Work


Home

bruno8747

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,241
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2005, 07:26:20 PM »

Quote from: Chris
He's trying to ask if he puts 2 8 gauge wires together will it equal a 4 gauge and i believe the answer is yes.


Thats exactaly what I am trying to say.
Logged

Syberz

  • Guest
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2005, 07:55:15 PM »

Although I believe 2x8gauge = 4gauge I don't think it'd be a good idea to do that. I'd invest the 5$ to get some 4 gauge.
Logged

ATFNegotiator

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 714
  • Legend - God - Hero?
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2005, 08:11:55 PM »

errr I dont think that'll work, but im not the expert on that. Smaller the gauges, the more it'll be able to burn up, but if you use two wires... well i dunno never thought about it.
Logged

viridius

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,258
  • You know what I mean.
    • http://www.getyourlanon.com
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2005, 08:26:24 PM »

Just look at the wire size table.  4 gauge wire is rated for 55 amps continuous, 8 gauge for 22.  2 8 gauge wires would pass 44 amps, so you'd be 11 amps short.  Find your power draw first and work back from there.
Logged
"I'm totally going to send ninjas after you." - BalefireX

neostar63

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 402
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2005, 10:30:08 PM »

Dont shortchange the wiring in your system. How many watts you will be pushing with the amp is going to determine the gauge of your wiring.
Logged

bruno8747

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,241
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2005, 11:39:19 PM »

I am gonna scrap the 8 gauge plan and get some 2 gauge now.  About the amps...plan on pushing atleast 1400.  I am gonna get an infinity 1210 amp that does 1300 watts rms and probably another infinity 4 channel.  And yes I am mostly gonna need an upgraded altenator (and some new windows :) )
Logged

Excess3

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 586
(2) 8 gauge = (1) 4 gauge?
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2005, 12:24:08 AM »

1400 amps... yah.
Good call on going with the 2 gauge.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.079 seconds with 48 queries.