GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 14, 2019, 12:35:00 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can't find capacitor needed  (Read 1125 times)

blafrisch

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +21/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,857
  • Blargg
    • Look at me
Can't find capacitor needed
« on: March 26, 2005, 01:37:46 AM »

For my carputer I'm wanting to use a PSOne screen which I do not own yet.

I've been doing a little research as to how to wire it up and such, but I can't find this one part.  Anyone know where to find a 10v 22uF Electrolytic Capacitor?  

I tried Jameco.com, but the lowest voltage one they had was 16v.  I'm pretty sure this won't do.  Anyone know another place to look for goodies like this.  (Oh Radioshack doesn't have it either, no surprise)
Logged
You're just about as useless as JPEGs to Helen Keller.
~ Wierd Al

Hak Foo

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +12/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,779
  • Far too old for his interests
Can't find capacitor needed
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2005, 03:17:42 AM »

Isn't the voltage rating on a cap primarily a tolerance figure?

22uF 16v > 22uF 10v

Please someone confirm this prior to him blowing his screen.

Alternative-- caps in parallel are like resistors in series and can be added to get the net total.
Logged

I LOVE ED

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +58018/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,619
  • I am this forum's personal El Guapo
    • x24
Can't find capacitor needed
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2005, 09:29:59 AM »

digikey has them.  but you can't buy just one.  you'd have to buy at least 5 or 10.  unless you can find another site.
Logged
My latest hobby: Down-voting QDB quotes from #geekissues.

Skylined

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +4/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,842
    • mtb.com.uy : Mountain Bike Uruguay
Can't find capacitor needed
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2005, 11:25:13 AM »

If you need a 22uF 10V cap, and all you can get is a 22uF 16V, that's ok, you can use that one.

It doesn't matter if the rated voltage on the capacitor is higher than the one you really need, but never get a capacitor that is rated under that voltage you need.

The only difference that you'll notice might be its size.

If you're still affraid, have a look. ;)
http://forums.gideontech.com/viewtopic.php?t=24290
Logged

blafrisch

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +21/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,857
  • Blargg
    • Look at me
Can't find capacitor needed
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2005, 12:29:53 PM »

OK, I was hoping you were going to be the one to reply.  I knew never to aim low, but I didn't know if too high was bad.  I'll wire this thingy up then, thanks.
Logged
You're just about as useless as JPEGs to Helen Keller.
~ Wierd Al
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.159 seconds with 19 queries.