GideonTech.com Forums

  • November 17, 2019, 08:47:37 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: One switch/toggle/knob/etc to turn on different lights?  (Read 1375 times)

dgevert

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
One switch/toggle/knob/etc to turn on different lights?
« on: March 18, 2005, 06:37:09 PM »

While looking at a Bit-Tech project log, I got an idea.  The modder was showing pictures of several different colored cold cathodes to find out which he liked.  Has anyone ever wired up a switch or toggle or something to basically control several different color cold cathodes?  I'm thinking of like, a 3 or 4 position toggle that, depending on the position, will activate one cold cathode while turning all the others off, and as you use the toggle, it turns on another while turning all of the others off.  Essentially, you'd have several cold cathodes of different colors, and the switch would only give power to one at a time, allowing you to change your light color on the fly from a simple switch, toggle, or knob.  Has anyone done this, and if not, is it possible?  What would be required to make it happen?
Logged

I LOVE ED

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +58018/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,619
  • I am this forum's personal El Guapo
    • x24
One switch/toggle/knob/etc to turn on different lights?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2005, 06:48:25 PM »

you're gonna have to use a rotary switch if you want to use a knob-style switch.  something like this:

rotary switch
Logged
My latest hobby: Down-voting QDB quotes from #geekissues.

damaged

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +18/-29
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,784
  • Keep your drinks, just give me the money...
One switch/toggle/knob/etc to turn on different lights?
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2005, 08:33:39 PM »

I'm not elektroniks specialist, but don't CCFLs require a good bit of juice to power up? Like a spike of power to initiate, then after that they run at whatever it is they need?
What I'm getting at is the fact you mentioned "on the fly" changing, then the suggestion of a rotary switch. First, reread the first 4 words in this post, then answer this: Wouldn't this cause multiple "surge"s as you cycle through the lights? Could this potentially cause too much of a drain on the system, damaging it?

I'm honestly wondering myself, because if you were to go from one side to the other, you would (briefly) supply power to all the ccfls between them, and seeing as how they would draw more power because they are in the initial power up stage, I'm thinking it could put stress on your PSU. How much, I'm not sure, would it be harmful? Maybe someone else can tell me/us.
Logged
"It puts the lotion on the Chen, or it gets the hose again." - Schezuan Bill

bruno8747

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,241
One switch/toggle/knob/etc to turn on different lights?
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2005, 09:35:20 PM »

Quote from: damaged
I'm not elektroniks specialist, but don't CCFLs require a good bit of juice to power up? Like a spike of power to initiate, then after that they run at whatever it is they need?
What I'm getting at is the fact you mentioned "on the fly" changing, then the suggestion of a rotary switch. First, reread the first 4 words in this post, then answer this: Wouldn't this cause multiple "surge"s as you cycle through the lights? Could this potentially cause too much of a drain on the system, damaging it?

I'm honestly wondering myself, because if you were to go from one side to the other, you would (briefly) supply power to all the ccfls between them, and seeing as how they would draw more power because they are in the initial power up stage, I'm thinking it could put stress on your PSU. How much, I'm not sure, would it be harmful? Maybe someone else can tell me/us.


They only need 12 volt from the psu and from the inverter to the tubes the voltages are like around 600 volts.
Logged

Firespark

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +8/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,742
  • What am I typing?
One switch/toggle/knob/etc to turn on different lights?
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2005, 09:39:44 PM »

plus, worse comes to worse, you just toggle through them slowly, one by one until you get to the color you want.
Logged

linear

  • Moderator
  • Senior Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 645
  • cruel, inhumane or degrading
    • linear1 case mods
One switch/toggle/knob/etc to turn on different lights?
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2005, 10:11:36 PM »

Quote from: damaged
Wouldn't this cause multiple "surge"s as you cycle through the lights? Could this potentially cause too much of a drain on the system, damaging it?


Yes, and no, respectively.

Typical current into a CCFL is a few hundred milliamps, and you can see an inrush spike of a few times that. Nothing to get too upset over.

As for how much of a current could harm your CPU, the dynamic load caused by your CPU is radically large--from a few watts to 75W and back in very short times. PSUs are made to cope with that (at least the good ones are).
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 20 queries.