GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 04, 2022, 12:46:25 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Glowire Lazer Leds  (Read 6199 times)

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Glowire Lazer Leds
« on: May 11, 2002, 06:28:00 PM »

snazzy...

http://www.gideontech.com/reviews/lazer_leds/lazer05.jpg">

Glowire Lazer Leds
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

shwaip

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2002, 08:19:00 PM »

SHINY!!!

bloo all the way ;)
Logged

brutal

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,413
    • http://www.brutal.tk
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2002, 08:49:00 PM »

its a very cool package since leds are a pain to wire but not that cool  :)
Logged

dogstar

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,343
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2002, 10:46:00 PM »

its cool, maybe for someone who just needs quick light and doesnt want to wire.
Logged
supra: why drive when you can fly?

honda: cause everyone needs a winter beater.

Richard Kranium

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 216
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2002, 08:02:00 AM »

Seems perfect for those of us wanting to light up a door or fan.
Logged

RaDragon

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +17/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,639
  • Tee hee hee.
    • RaDragon.com
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2002, 01:36:00 PM »

hey GideonX -- i'm considering on using those for lighting my case, but judging from the photos you took, it seems as though the light output (and/or dispersal) wasn't adequate...

would one lazer LED be sufficient for lighting a mid-tower ATX or would you just recommend going with with CCFL?

Logged

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2002, 02:52:00 PM »

mid tower would be just 'ok'.  this is more for accent lighting...but it sure won't beat a ccfl.
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

Bullet-Man-2

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
    • http://www.garbercentral.com/vadim
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2002, 07:13:00 PM »

I found an old LED that came in the box of my Logi-tec mouse (you know those boxes that have that crazy blinking LED for advertisement of the NEW optical mice?..). Anyways, I installed it inside my case and it provided the same amount of light as your picture shows.. But that was just one LED. Maybe the problem with the LED's that you guys tests is that the casing around the LED looks to be like a steal or hard plastic which doesn't let light through. Since LED's anrnt like flash lights, and give off most of their power from the sides, which do they have that covering? The LED I shoved in my case was a single red one with the entire LED expossed. I think it gave off a rather nice glow. Not compaired to a flo light, but with 4 of them wired up, I don't see why not =).

Cheers all
Logged

Bullet-Man-2

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
    • http://www.garbercentral.com/vadim
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2002, 08:40:00 PM »

Hey I know when im right! I just got me a orange type color LED tail light (it's like for emergnacys.. you know..) for 3 bucks at Big-Lots (ohh yea thats about as hobo-ish as you can get) and it had 9 LED's lights up the entire case (plus poors light out of the sides of my  case.. maybe to bright = ). Anyways, I'll get some pics 2morrow. I WILL mod this a bit. right now it runs under 4 AA's (that's like 6 volts), so I  hope to try to rig this up to my 5.5 power sourse from a normal molex conector (the RED and Black wire). Any comments about this mod? I'm going from batteries to wires, and should I worry about amps? I'm new to this subject, and might as well post about this under the modding section. Oh yea, plus I'll add some nice blue LED's, Im not to FOND of this.

Cheers
Logged

Bullet-Man-2

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
    • http://www.garbercentral.com/vadim
Glowire Lazer Leds
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2002, 08:40:00 PM »

sry about that double post =(

I'll make this post count. Here is what LED thingy I bought for 3 bucks. It looks to have about 12 LED's...

http://www.rayovac.com/products/flashlights/onelight.php3?sku_num=W4AASAF
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.115 seconds with 32 queries.