GideonTech.com Forums

  • July 23, 2019, 10:28:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...  (Read 1487 times)

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,461
    • GideonTech.com
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« on: April 21, 2002, 10:53:00 PM »

how about 1055 mhz? peep it:

http://home.nycap.rr.com/gideonx/166_wcpuid.gif">

http://home.nycap.rr.com/gideonx/166_sisoft_arith.gif">

http://home.nycap.rr.com/gideonx/166_sisoft_mm.gif">

http://home.nycap.rr.com/gideonx/166_sisoft_mem.gif">

so how'd this happen? rigged the voltage with the 2 pin mod to get it at 1.7v default. here's a chopped up version of what you need to do:

take your p4 northie and get yourself some wire, i used a copper strand from this 22 or was it 18 gauge wire...whatever. thin wire is fine:

http://home.nycap.rr.com/gideonx/1.jpg">

here's the area we're going to be going to. we're aiming to hook together with a thin wire pins 3/4 and nothing else. you can actually set the voltage to higher defaults, but it does jack sh*t really...not as many options as this one:

http://home.nycap.rr.com/gideonx/2.jpg">

take your wire and twist it around until you get a tiny ass loop. then hook it up and twist until its tight a bit...

http://home.nycap.rr.com/gideonx/3.jpg">

boot up...and wham...you got higher voltages to play with. btw...on my asus p4b266, you can give yourself higher voltage choices with a jumper...so go read your manual.

http://home.nycap.rr.com/gideonx/4.jpg">

sorry for watermarking the above pics...don't really want anyone ripping them off. close up pics are not easy to get without the right camera...

now before you flame my ass for doing something that everyone on this planet has done already (voltage moddin')...how many of them do you know that have gotten a 1055Mhz overclock? ;)

_________________

Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

dogstar

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,343
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2002, 11:24:00 PM »

pretty darn nice gid, congrats.
:)
Logged
supra: why drive when you can fly?

honda: cause everyone needs a winter beater.

myr

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 149
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2002, 06:23:00 PM »

very good :)
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2002, 07:39:00 PM »

Wow....very cool.

I might try that....some day.  :)  BUt I'm happy with my 700MHz OC on my 1.6a.  My sig is wrong....it's running at 2.329GHz now..  :P

**edit**

BTW - Gid, what was your FSB???  170?  Nevermind....I saw it.  LOL!  Damn old age...

_________________

Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.

winterstick

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
    • http://winterstick.tk
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2002, 08:08:00 PM »

hey I did the voltage mod too!!!




:D  and I'm running at a 1 Ghz FSB!!!! yeah, I rule!

_________________
Tbird 1.4@1.53
Iwill kk266plus-r
512 Megs PC166
Geforce2 GTS 64 Meg
Fortissimo II
Logged

winterstick

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
    • http://winterstick.tk
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2002, 08:33:00 PM »

last post was a joke.... I didn't do anything except open photoshop.
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2002, 08:41:00 PM »

Quote

On 2002-04-22 21:33, winterstick wrote:
last post was a joke.... I didn't do anything except open photoshop.



I don't get it....I don't get it....I don't get it....

:)

Quote borrowed from the movie "Big", BTW.

:D
Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.

Aglar

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +8/-4
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,557
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2002, 08:50:00 PM »

He's pretending to claim that the pictures are his simply because there is no watermark. Nice photo shoppery :)
Logged

NMDante

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,273
  • Aaargh!
You thought 960mhz overclock on a p4 1.6a was big...
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2002, 08:58:00 PM »

Quote

On 2002-04-22 21:50, Aglar wrote:
He's pretending to claim that the pictures are his simply because there is no watermark. Nice photo shoppery :)


Oh....didn't even notice the watermarks on the first set...  LOL

:)
Logged
Main system: 840EE on ABIT AW8-MAX, 2GB DDR2, GeForce 7600GT, SB X-Fi Platinum, 3x200GB SATA HDs, 2x DVD+/-R/RWs all in Antec P160, and modified H2O cooling system.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.059 seconds with 20 queries.