GideonTech.com Forums

  • June 20, 2019, 01:23:21 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [?] Overclocking a DELL, please help kind of a rush  (Read 1125 times)

keristillax

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 553
[?] Overclocking a DELL, please help kind of a rush
« on: February 06, 2004, 06:35:38 PM »

Heres my situation. I have a LAN tomorrow and my motherboard is f***ed up so I need to take my moms computer. I threw my ram, video card, and HDD in it to make it pretty damn good. But itll help all the more if I can overclock it a bit. Its the DELL BIOS so I dont see any options for OCing in there. Any help would be greatly appreciated, or any suggestions to make a dell better.

Thank You

a kung-fu mastah
Logged

pHEnomIC69

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 674
[?] Overclocking a DELL, please help kind of a rush
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2004, 06:38:45 PM »

well... you need to give us more info like the exact bios version, motherboard type, and ram.  You may want to look at your motherboard manual(probably at dell's website).  There may be jumper settings that you can adjust to make the dell OCed
Logged

merlinicorpus

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-1341
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,656
  • One with the corn.
    • merliniworks
[?] Overclocking a DELL, please help kind of a rush
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2004, 08:24:23 PM »

All Dell BIOSes are completely locked to prevent overclocking.  You cannot overclock any Dell.
Logged

jayjay1331

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 647
[?] Overclocking a DELL, please help kind of a rush
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2004, 12:01:16 AM »

Yep...they even use custom PLL's to thwart any and all software overclocking.  I had completely rebuild my Dell just so I could OC...
Logged

computerfreke911

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +7/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,724
    • http://www.geocities.com/computerfreke911
[?] Overclocking a DELL, please help kind of a rush
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2004, 05:30:48 PM »

hahah ur screwed.... i'd just go buy a top of the line system at a store and return it after the lan

and the only prebuilt system i've seen that can oc are athlon xp emachines. they use nforce2 boards that have oc'in in them stock

good luck fragging
Logged

pHEnomIC69

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 674
[?] Overclocking a DELL, please help kind of a rush
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2004, 10:00:41 PM »

Not 100% ture, my friends dell is overclocked, he had to do some tricky stuff with jumpers and had to get a different bios, but it is probably safe to say that it will be tough to oc it.   I am still trying to figure out how to overclock my 450 mhz gateway after all these years.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.057 seconds with 20 queries.