GideonTech.com Forums

  • November 18, 2018, 01:19:18 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about Amps..  (Read 967 times)

sg3

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Question about Amps..
« on: October 31, 2003, 08:04:58 AM »

I've never really had to really worry about current in my PC, as i've only done simple modding, but lately my PC has started to get more electricity reliant, with lights etc.
Now I was wondering about current.. I know the PSU has a max Voltage, but about current. I'm not quite sure as to how it works.. Is the current defined by how many components are in your set-up, getting the current they need, or is there a current running around already, that supplies those components.

I don't know if I made it clear or not, but i'd just like to know. I can't find anything on the net, as many sites don't fully explain if the current is already in the circuit at a set amount, or if it varies depending on what you have.

thanks for any help.
Logged

viridius

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,258
  • You know what I mean.
    • http://www.getyourlanon.com
Question about Amps..
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2003, 05:29:31 PM »

Current is somewhat like the amount of electricity that is consumed by your equipment.  Your PSU should have current ratings listed on the side.  350 watts or so is good for the normal system with a few extra fans and lights.
Logged
"I'm totally going to send ninjas after you." - BalefireX

sg3

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Question about Amps..
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2003, 09:15:00 AM »

So there isn't really a worry about using too many LEDs in parallel or whatever?

I'll get it more when experience grows.
Logged

viridius

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,258
  • You know what I mean.
    • http://www.getyourlanon.com
Question about Amps..
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2003, 04:15:01 PM »

Each LED will take something like 0.02 amps so unless you're using a lot of them, you don't need to worry.
Logged
"I'm totally going to send ninjas after you." - BalefireX
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.057 seconds with 19 queries.