GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 14, 2019, 01:16:44 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Homemade Network cable tester  (Read 5283 times)

daPyr0x

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2003, 12:45:43 AM »

most of the cheap ones I've seen just give you an LED readout like what you're making there
they go through pin 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and light up which pin on the other end works.
Logged

BiGReD

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,051
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2003, 11:41:54 AM »

I do have a couple 555 chips already, so making it automatic is no problem.

I'm gonna go get the parts today.
Logged

BiGReD

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,051
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2003, 09:48:10 PM »

Well, I got all the parts today and hooked them up, it works perfectly, and I used BLUE LED's.  It turned out I had 8 left from my last order from lsdiodes.com.

I'm going to do the other row white and add a red on off indicator.  I gotta get a bigger project box for it too.  I'll be sure to write a guide if you guys want it.
Logged

Shiz

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,644
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2003, 10:12:31 PM »

<---- Shiz wants it
Logged

BiGReD

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,051
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2003, 11:14:50 PM »

When it's done i'll write a guide then.

I was just looking through my misc. electronic parts, and found 2 8 segment LED displays and some decoder chips that go with them... I was thinking I'll try making one with those so that the numbers count up on the display, but i will probably have to go get another decoder chip.  What do you guys think of that, or should i just stick to the LED's?
Logged

modnut

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,597
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2003, 11:20:48 PM »

cool i could use a guide for that.  i am starting a huge networking project at school and that would help alot.
Logged

daPyr0x

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2003, 12:13:49 AM »

I think the LEDs are better for that....
especially if you organize the output so they align with the pins that are actually on the jacks

so you could put them horizontally

Code: [Select]
........    ........
||||||||    ||||||||

so the dots are LEDs, and the lines are the pins on the wires

understand...at all?
Logged

Skylined

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +4/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,842
    • mtb.com.uy : Mountain Bike Uruguay
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2003, 09:21:14 AM »

Use a 4511, it's a BCD (Binary Coded Decimal)
You enter a binary code and you'll get the decimal number displayed in that 7-segment display.
If you need help just ask.

And of course you have to write the guide.
Logged

BiGReD

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,051
Homemade Network cable tester
« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2003, 10:54:37 PM »

Quote from: Skylined
Use a 4511, it's a BCD (Binary Coded Decimal)
You enter a binary code and you'll get the decimal number displayed in that 7-segment display.
If you need help just ask.

And of course you have to write the guide.


Thats the chip i have...
Logged

sg3

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
Would love to see a guide.
« Reply #19 on: October 24, 2003, 04:36:06 PM »

Sounds great. I would love to see a guide, as it seems to be a cheap effective creation.
I could also really do with this tool as my network is really knacked and i'm not sure if its the hardware, software or wires thats to blame.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.18 seconds with 21 queries.