GideonTech.com Forums

  • September 28, 2020, 10:44:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Swappable HD  (Read 404 times)

kramrazek

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 286
Swappable HD
« on: September 22, 2003, 07:33:39 AM »

Anybody have any experience with swappable HDs? I saw this casing on Vantec's website and thought it looked pretty sweet. Any thoughts on this or something else to sink into a spare bay?
Logged

khain13

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 286
Swappable HD
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2003, 07:45:31 AM »

I've never used one as a secondary drive, but we use them for the primary drive in our labs at my school. you just get a blank drive at the beginning of the class and install the OS and we play with security and network utilities. then at the end of the semester we format and they're ready for the next semester's class.
Logged
We pretty much do everything half-assed around here.

ClearCaseMan

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +10/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,040
    • http://www.casemodman.com
Swappable HD
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2003, 07:50:21 AM »

well they are nice to have but you need to determine is wether yo uwant a hot swapable(van be changed live) or passive (power down and change using a drive sled)
Logged


Dave303

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +26/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,796
  • Thats MR. Slacker to you
    • MalatoryMods
Swappable HD
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2003, 08:25:43 AM »

I would check to see if it is just a drive cage or if you had the hardware that it will alow it to be hot swapable (Note most EIDE controllers are not hot Swapable).
Logged
Now live in the Twin cities.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.062 seconds with 33 queries.