GideonTech.com Forums

  • April 01, 2020, 11:41:43 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LCD in drive bay?  (Read 1724 times)

hungfarlo

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
LCD in drive bay?
« on: September 14, 2003, 12:41:27 PM »

Hi there.
First time poster, long time lurker, so please bear with! I'm trying to make an LCD not unlike that of winterstick's (http://www.gideontech.com/guides/lcd/), but I can't seem to find the part he used anywhere...anybody have any ideas what a similar LCD model would be? I'd like to find something in a similar price range...and in Canada would be even better.

Also, anybody know of any resources on coding for the HD44780? I would need control codes and such.

Thanks a lot!
Logged
SGI > Sun > Everything Else
SGI Octane; 2xR12000SCA, 400MHz
256 MB RAM, Dual 9.1 GB 10k RPM SCSI Hard Disks
IMPACT MXE Graphics, 2 RE, 2 GE,  4 TRAM
IRIX 6.5.18

renderblender

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 335
LCD in drive bay?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2003, 02:58:02 PM »

Here is a link to a LCD Faq, this may have what you are looking for:

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?s=5d40e5070c7e6024b00cfa74f60e5e72&threadid=5582
Logged

hungfarlo

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
LCD in drive bay?
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2003, 05:20:32 PM »

Thanks a lot. This answers all but one question - what's the cheapest source of LCDs? I don't want to go with a Matrix Orbital just because of the cost (and I'm headed into EE, so I've got some skills with the soldering iron), and same with Crystalfontz and the other kits listed...all I need is an LCD with a controller, my wits, some cable/terminators and a 6-pack of beer :)

Thanks
Logged
SGI > Sun > Everything Else
SGI Octane; 2xR12000SCA, 400MHz
256 MB RAM, Dual 9.1 GB 10k RPM SCSI Hard Disks
IMPACT MXE Graphics, 2 RE, 2 GE,  4 TRAM
IRIX 6.5.18

viridius

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,258
  • You know what I mean.
    • http://www.getyourlanon.com
LCD in drive bay?
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2003, 07:57:37 PM »

Try EIO.
Logged
"I'm totally going to send ninjas after you." - BalefireX

timid1

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,281
LCD in drive bay?
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2003, 02:44:13 PM »

Or digikey as well.

http://www.digikey.com/scripts/us/dksus.dll?Criteria?Ref=9300&Cat=31785787

CrystalFontz is not prohibitively expensive.  You can get bare character LCDs (HD44780) for under $20.  The kits (i.e., pre-wired serial LCDs) are the expensive ones ($100+).  Just surf around here:

http://www.crystalfontz.com/products/index-std.html

Cheers.
Logged

renderblender

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 335
LCD in drive bay?
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2003, 07:35:31 PM »

Logged

soundman

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 515
LCD in drive bay?
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2003, 08:03:46 PM »

I got mine 4*20 off E BAY for 11.99 shipped, the guy is selling a bunch of them, I bought two becasue I fried one
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.787 seconds with 33 queries.