GideonTech.com Forums

• July 23, 2019, 01:32:34 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New here... Quick questions  (Read 1813 times)

Anm8ed

• Case Mod Weenie
New here... Quick questions
« on: September 10, 2003, 04:37:42 PM »

I'm a newbie modder, or attempting to be modder. I am working on a case and had a question about LEDs and such. Going to change to blue or UV (not sure how bright those are) more then likley. Does it matter what luminece the LED is if I run it off the MB lead? I can i stick in a 2000 LED in place of the default LED?

This is a learning experience for sure. Bought a dremmel, cut first hole in case. Going to buy a soldering gun so I can switch my power switch to a rocker switch. Generic other things. This site has been a blessing and a curse. I love all the reading, but on the other hand...  this stuff can be expensive. Once I get a little soldeing under my belt I might try an LCD.

Don't worry.. I'll read the guide instead of asking how to do it.

Thats all... just a hi a question and a thanks. You guys kick arse.   :D

DurocShark

• Senior Modder
    • http://www.donimages.com
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2003, 04:44:56 PM »

Voltage will be more important than the Luminance since we're talking about such low current levels...

Most commonly available LEDs *should* be fine. I don't know what kind of tolerance they build into mobos, but it must be pretty high considering the wide variations in cases.

Apraxhren

• Senior Modder
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2003, 04:47:47 PM »

it doesn't matter how bright the LED is only how many volts it draws. You would want to get a 5v led so then the whole transister problem is easier. Also is you use a rocker switch, STSP on-off i presume, you would have to turn it on then off because the power switch uses a momentary switch.

nemattoad

• Elite Modder
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2003, 04:47:59 PM »