GideonTech.com Forums

  • July 19, 2019, 09:41:58 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: [?] Another quick power supply question  (Read 4204 times)

chrisbliss18

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
    • http://www.geocities.com/chrisbliss18@sbcglobal.net
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2003, 12:10:36 AM »

I agree with mphase. As long as you aren't over drawing the individual amperage available on the line, everything is fine. I'm running 5 fans on one line, 6 inverters on another, and a HSF and two drives on another. My power supply shows good numbers too. I know that running splices would not be a problem considering that I ran a 12V and a ground to a terminal strip where I attached many different connectors. So if you're not afraid of damaging your PSU, I'd say you try it. I'd further suggest that you make a test PSU to try out different wirings without damaging your system's PSU. Check http://www.casemodgod.com/mod_test_psu.htm">this out if you're interested in making a test PSU. Good luck.
Logged

BalefireX

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,839
  • http://pics.aran.ws
    • pics.aran.ws
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2003, 07:13:24 AM »

Have you considered doing something like this?
http://www.angrymodder.com/articles/psumod.php

Its not wise to put things like CCFLs on the same chain as your important system devices like HDDs.
Logged


keristillax

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 553
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2003, 09:22:34 AM »

its not going to be on the same chain as hdd's and stuff, and basically im trying to organize the daisy chain. and this is the sticker on the power supply.

Logged

BalefireX

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,839
  • http://pics.aran.ws
    • pics.aran.ws
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2003, 09:42:51 AM »

still don't understand exactly what you want to do.  If you could explain what devices you want to connect to each chain (saying that there are chains 1, 2, 3, and 4) that would be more helpful.
Logged


chrisbliss18

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
    • http://www.geocities.com/chrisbliss18@sbcglobal.net
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2003, 10:42:25 AM »

I believe I understand what keristillax is going for. Instead of using a bunch of molex pass-throughs or other items that will only make his chain look more messy, he wants to splice his cables to give him four clean molex connectors off of one chain. Once again keristallax, I'd say go for it, just be careful with your soldering and keep track of where those cables go. I'm looking at doing something similar to clean up some of the junk in my case.
Logged

keristillax

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 553
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2003, 02:16:21 PM »

yea thats about it, so i can just plug the wire into it, im planning on making a plexi box and having the molex/fan connectors so i can easily just put the plugs in and take em out again easily. but how many can i put off one molex with that power supply? and also im not sure how i would do this, so in short how would i make a a plug like those on a CCFL, or sometimes a fan?
Logged

chrisbliss18

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
    • http://www.geocities.com/chrisbliss18@sbcglobal.net
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2003, 02:28:20 PM »

I don't really know about the numbers, someone else will have to help there, but all your fans will tell you what their amperage requirements are. Just add up all the amperage requirements to find the total draw on each chain. I don't think that there is a limit to how much you can put on one chain, as long as you don't overdraw your powersupply. There are concerns however with connecting components that "dirty" the current such as items that run off of inverters. So I'd say that as long as you don't try to attach all your drives, your fans, and your lights to just one chain, you should be okay. I may even be wrong about that, could work, I'm sure someone knows the answer to that one. To try to give you a very short answer to what I think you're doing, it will be fine to rewire your chain to attach all four of your fans to it. I have five fans running off of one chain and if I rewired them to rid myself of the pass-throughs, that wouldn't make any difference.
Logged

keristillax

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 553
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2003, 03:21:16 PM »

yea but what im saying is how do i MAKE a connector like that of those on a CCFL, or some fans. I dont know how to have another plug come out of them ike the ones they use to connect fans. heres a different lil diagram i made to help show what i mean.



i really wanna know how to do this because ive been wanting ot get this done fo rawhile. please help.
Logged

M1X33

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 136
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #18 on: September 05, 2003, 03:32:51 PM »

go to the angrymodder link that was posted and i think it tells u how to get molex off the just solder the wires together then put it back in.  im not sure if its the molex or 4 pin that pentium 4 uses.  if its not the molex u could pull the wires out the try and get them back in.
Logged

chrisbliss18

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
    • http://www.geocities.com/chrisbliss18@sbcglobal.net
[?] Another quick power supply question
« Reply #19 on: September 05, 2003, 04:16:31 PM »

Okay. I Googled around a bit and found a http://www.overclockmania.net/prodotti/schede/accessori/cavi/cavo7v/img/cavo7v.jpg">pic of what you're trying to do with the fans. It looks like you tap a 12V lead (yellow) and a ground (black) and attach it to the three pin connector, then you run a separate line from the third connector to the motherboard to provide RPM monitoring. Shouldn't be too hard to do as long as you have the connectors. You could always make your own though. As for attaching the Cold Cathodes, you can't attach those directly, they have to be connected through an inverter. I'm currently trying to find out how to build an inverter to run all my seven CCs (Which will quickly turn into 9  :D ). As for how to actually connect those cables, follow M1X33's advice and go look at the angrymodder.com site. It'll show you how to mix those cables.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.059 seconds with 19 queries.