GideonTech.com Forums

  • July 23, 2019, 10:27:03 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fixing an ATX PSU  (Read 2505 times)

BiGReD

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,051
Fixing an ATX PSU
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2003, 04:57:25 PM »

Do you have a load on the power supply?  I have an old atx that if you short the leads to turn it on, it will spin the fan up for about half a second or less (enough time to charge all the capacitors up) then it will stop.  It only spins the fan up again when there is something connected to it.
Logged

chrisbliss18

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
    • http://www.geocities.com/chrisbliss18@sbcglobal.net
Fixing an ATX PSU
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2003, 02:59:10 AM »

I'd like to say thanks for all the attention on this post. I appreciate it. I do not have a load on any line, not even for a moment. I attached an LED to one of the lines and never saw a flicker out of it. I didn't intend for this PSU to be a test PSU. Since it failed to work, I installed a different one in the system that I built. I'd like to get it working so I can install it in another system that I am planning on building. I just have a hard time understanding how a nice, unmodded 470W PSU can die from something as simple as grounding out the power on lead :wtf: . If the only alternative is to junk it, I suppose that I could just scrap it for parts. Really sad to do that to such a fine unit  :cry: .
Logged

DurocShark

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 513
    • http://www.donimages.com
Fixing an ATX PSU
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2003, 08:05:13 AM »

Quote from: BiGReD
Do you have a load on the power supply?  I have an old atx that if you short the leads to turn it on, it will spin the fan up for about half a second or less (enough time to charge all the capacitors up) then it will stop.  It only spins the fan up again when there is something connected to it.


Plug in an old CD ROM or something. See if that allows the PSU to power up. (An LED isn't enough of a load for the PSU to notice...)
Logged

viridius

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,258
  • You know what I mean.
    • http://www.getyourlanon.com
Fixing an ATX PSU
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2003, 09:40:11 PM »

Fans work too.
Logged
"I'm totally going to send ninjas after you." - BalefireX
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.056 seconds with 19 queries.