GideonTech.com Forums

  • April 01, 2020, 01:02:51 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: touch switch  (Read 8327 times)

fuzzball172

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
    • http://www.leeraven.com/mod/mod.htm
touch switch
« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2003, 02:50:19 PM »

Good news and bad...

I got the QT110's and promptly wired them up... they worked... Touch the sensor and the LED hooked up to the output pin goes out... and there is the problem... I ordered the standard QT110 and not the QT110h, so i have managed to make a normally closed touch sensitive switch... and farnells don't seem to stock the QT110h

I took a quick drive into town to ask advice from the electronics wizard at my local electronics shop... She said all could be solved with an inverter... After a little reading on the texas instruments website... I found the SN74LS04 'not gate' which should do exactly what I want... IC now ordered and will try again this weekend....

Hopefully pics to follow on saturday
Logged

viridius

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,258
  • You know what I mean.
    • http://www.getyourlanon.com
touch switch
« Reply #21 on: September 15, 2003, 07:51:35 PM »

Remember to ground the unused inputs of the hex inverter.
Logged
"I'm totally going to send ninjas after you." - BalefireX

fuzzball172

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
    • http://www.leeraven.com/mod/mod.htm
touch switch
« Reply #22 on: September 16, 2003, 01:34:05 AM »

Quote
Remember to ground the unused inputs of the hex inverter.


Did not know that... whys that then? Do I just hook them up to pin 7, the ground?
Logged

viridius

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,258
  • You know what I mean.
    • http://www.getyourlanon.com
touch switch
« Reply #23 on: September 16, 2003, 08:08:24 PM »

You should connect the pins of unused gates to either positive supply or ground.  Otherwise, the gates could pick up stray signals that will cause increased power consumption or erratic behavior of the remaining gates.
Logged
"I'm totally going to send ninjas after you." - BalefireX

fuzzball172

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
    • http://www.leeraven.com/mod/mod.htm
touch switch
« Reply #24 on: September 17, 2003, 01:42:21 AM »

Cheers... Have requested a sample SN74LS04N from Texas Instruments... should have it by the weekend

If all goes to plan, should have some pics by weekend
Logged

Skylined

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +4/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,842
    • mtb.com.uy : Mountain Bike Uruguay
touch switch
« Reply #25 on: September 17, 2003, 10:27:16 AM »

Connect the unused input pins to ground or positive and leave without connection the unused output pins.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.064 seconds with 34 queries.