GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 17, 2019, 07:38:46 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ic voltage supply ?  (Read 1821 times)

divideByZero

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,227
  • woof
    • http://www.geocities.com/flatline_racing/index1.html
ic voltage supply ?
« on: August 28, 2003, 02:17:10 PM »

do all ics have to be powered even if the schematic doesnt call for it?
Logged
To live by the beast is to die by the beast, a trail of blood amid pawprints means nothing unless it is my own.

daPyr0x

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
ic voltage supply ?
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2003, 02:31:28 PM »

there's gotta be some sort of power going to it, I don't know of any ic that doesn't need a steady source of power, but I know some things power themselves off the signal....
Logged

divideByZero

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,227
  • woof
    • http://www.geocities.com/flatline_racing/index1.html
ic voltage supply ?
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2003, 03:02:35 PM »

got the answer. they do need their own power if they are designed for it.
Logged
To live by the beast is to die by the beast, a trail of blood amid pawprints means nothing unless it is my own.

Skylined

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +4/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,842
    • mtb.com.uy : Mountain Bike Uruguay
ic voltage supply ?
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2003, 03:42:48 PM »

ICs aren't all the same, there are different families, different number of pins, etc, etc.
What you always have to do is to get the data sheet of the IC and look if they have VDD (+) and VSS (-)
Logged

viridius

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,258
  • You know what I mean.
    • http://www.getyourlanon.com
ic voltage supply ?
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2003, 05:45:28 PM »

Remember that TTL must be powered by 5 volts always.  CMOS can go up to 18 volts.
Logged
"I'm totally going to send ninjas after you." - BalefireX

divideByZero

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,227
  • woof
    • http://www.geocities.com/flatline_racing/index1.html
ic voltage supply ?
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2003, 12:52:58 AM »

i should have said that i got the specs from fairchild semicondutors website. it all worked out.
Logged
To live by the beast is to die by the beast, a trail of blood amid pawprints means nothing unless it is my own.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.061 seconds with 20 queries.