GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 30, 2020, 02:47:28 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about memory  (Read 688 times)

suprastar

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
    • http://www.projectsuprastar.tk
Question about memory
« on: August 11, 2003, 12:05:58 AM »

I have an MSI KT3 Ultra2 mobo and I'm getting a new stick of memory so my computer doesn't slow down whenever I'm doing 3d modeling. I couldn't remember what memory my mobo took so I went to the MSI website and looked up my mobo and found that it can take PC2100 and PC2700 memory. I already have a 256 MB PC2100 memory stick and want to get a 512MB PC2700 memory stick. Would I be able to install PC2700 memory into my computer with that PC2100 memory stick already in there or does it have to be the same type of memory (PC2100) on my mobo?
Logged

snowy

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
Question about memory
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2003, 12:08:11 AM »

well im pretty sure you can do that but its only gonna run as fast as your slowest stick of ram. So for example if you have a 512mb stick of PC2100 and an stick of 512mb PC2700 its only going to run at PC2100 speeds. Again i am not certain.
Logged

suprastar

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
    • http://www.projectsuprastar.tk
Question about memory
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2003, 12:25:53 AM »

Cool. Thanks snowy. If it doesn't work out at all then I can always just take it back and exchange it for a PC2100 stick of memory.
Logged

AMD_Junk13

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,215
    • Ross Computer Technologies
Question about memory
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2003, 12:58:06 AM »

I would just get rid of the 2100 and run the 512 of 2700 you will be much better off, speed wise.
Logged
New specs tba...

PMV

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,895
Question about memory
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2003, 01:32:20 AM »

one rule of thumb:

"never mix speeds or breeds"

I would just use the one 512mb of PC2700, youll be much happier with the speed performance then the additional 256mb of memory that youll never use anyways ;)
Logged
"I nine an eleven-eloin with my five'k"

daPyr0x

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
Question about memory
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2003, 11:01:01 AM »

*sounds noobish*
how would I tell what kind of ddr ram I got, I know it's only 2100 or 2700....but it was OEM and doesn't have a label for speed on it....
Logged

[D.o.S] LukeDG

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 158
    • http://www.csamovie.co.uk
Question about memory
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2003, 07:31:35 PM »

go into bios, and unless you have oc'ed the memory, you can see what the original speed is
Logged
AXP 2400 @ 2236 (166x13.5) Cooled by SP-97
512MB PC2700 Generic Ram
ATi Radeon 9700 Pro @ 342/666
80GB Maxtor 2MB, 120GB Seagate 8MB, 80GB Maxtor SATA 8MB

suprastar

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
    • http://www.projectsuprastar.tk
Question about memory
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2003, 01:19:29 AM »

I didn't have enough $$ to get 512MB and I wanted extra RAM badly so I went out and got a 256MB stick of PC2700 RAM and it said it was backwards compatible and would work with 2100 so I installed and so far I have had no problems. But once I get enought cash I think I might want to go out and get more so my computer freeze up as bad.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.101 seconds with 34 queries.