GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 17, 2019, 08:58:46 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Where can I get 240v from in my case?  (Read 6939 times)

spikyhercules

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« on: August 07, 2003, 07:18:56 PM »

This may sound daft but I have got my self eight 120mm x 120mm x 38mm 220/240v fans and was wondering if I could use them on my case the problem is they are 220/240v and a molex can only give me 5v, 7v, 12v & 17v I think so has anyone got an idea of how to power at least 1 of these beasts?
Logged

Psycho Clowns

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,082
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2003, 07:25:49 PM »

They sound like they are AC fans rather than DC.
Logged

daPyr0x

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2003, 07:26:01 PM »

220/240v??
what the hell do you have there??

are you sure they're DC fans?
Logged

minnick007

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2003, 07:30:58 PM »

If they are AC fans you'll have to pull them from right in the power supply where the line comes in....I wouldn't reccomend it...Thats alot of juice
Logged

Ykarts4u

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,205
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2003, 07:47:21 PM »

don't do it, the electromagnetic field those things throw off is nasty.
Logged
Rhinoceruses don't play games. They f*cking charge your ass!

spikyhercules

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2003, 07:48:01 PM »

I'm not sure if they are AC or DC  all they say on the sticker is
220/240V~  50/60Hz
20/19W  0.12/0.11A


They are only 2900RPM but big & beefy  :D
Logged

daPyr0x

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 538
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2003, 07:54:39 PM »

yeah, they're AC
cuz DC doesn't have a frequency (the Hz)

I'd hafta agree with Ykarts there...don't think it's worth it.

[edit] oh and btw, if you're in north america your entire computer doesn't run off of 220/240 volts....think about it dude...
Logged

Irateshadow

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 259
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2003, 07:55:03 PM »

Those are AC fans. the 50/60 HZ is the oscillation on the lines that the fans use. You probabally shouldn't use them.

Edit: beat me to it.
Logged

LordZuul01

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2003, 07:59:51 PM »

You will find that they are AC Fans for ppl outside the US... They will probably be universal motors... (IE they will run on either). The squiggle means that it expects AC... The fact that they accept 50/60 cycles probably makes them universal.

2 ways of getting your AC... You can wire an IEC socket to the fans, or you can run a set of cables from the back of the IEC socket inside the PSU. Make sure you use the ground lug on the fan, either connect it directly to ground, or ground it to your case. Most professional class servers only use AC fans. Look inside a compaq server...

As for electrical noise, they produce less electrical noise than a fan running on DC, and they move a fair bit more air. I use AC motors rather than DC motors when I need to cool large power supplies or MOSFETs in amplifiers.

:: LZ ::
I did an Ouch yesterday... tried to catch my soldering iron from falling off a ladder. (Pity seeking off)
Logged

modnut

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,597
Where can I get 240v from in my case?
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2003, 08:17:20 PM »

holy crap those things are beasts.  i wouldn't risk installing them becaue of the magnetic field, it would really screw up stuff in your case.  what would you use those for?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.056 seconds with 19 queries.