GideonTech.com Forums

  • October 01, 2020, 07:31:53 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: cpu & ram matching  (Read 404 times)

Brutus007

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 123
cpu & ram matching
« on: July 29, 2003, 06:11:48 AM »

in the process of building a new machine, i want to use pc3200 ddr400 but im not ready to pay for a 400 fsb processor yet.  can i use a 333 fsb proc  with this ram or should i keep them the same.  if its possible to make them different, what do i set the fsb on the mobo.
Logged

BalefireX

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,839
  • http://pics.aran.ws
    • pics.aran.ws
Re: cpu & ram matching
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2003, 06:40:25 AM »

Quote from: Brutus007
in the process of building a new machine, i want to use pc3200 ddr400 but im not ready to pay for a 400 fsb processor yet.  can i use a 333 fsb proc  with this ram or should i keep them the same.  if its possible to make them different, what do i set the fsb on the mobo.


Basic answer:
You can certainly use PC3200 with a 333 fsb processor.  You shouldnt have to set anything.

Additional Information:
If you have a 333fsb processor, what your motherboard will automatically do is use the ram as PC2700, because the factory settings on the chip tell the motherboard what the multiplier and front side bus should be.  
The RAM speed for DDR is 2x the speed of the front side bus.
Note that the front side bus is not the number that intel or AMD advertises; in Intel's case it is 1/4th the advertised number, and in AMD's case, 1/2 the number.  Therefore a P4 3.0C "800FSB" really uses a 200FSB and a Barton 2500+ "333FSB" really uses 166FSB.
If you get a Barton 2500+, it tells the motherboard that it requires 11x166, and thus the ram runs at DDR333.  If you were to manually set the multiplier or fsb to a different setting (overclocking) like 11x200 (overclocking to 3200+ speed) then you would be using the RAM at DDR400.
Logged


hyjacked

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,314
    • http://www.hyjacked.homelinux.com
cpu & ram matching
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2003, 07:22:54 AM »

you can also run your processor at 333fsb speeds and your memory at 200mhz speeds, thus taking full advantage of both.

In your bios you should be able to find where to adjust these. they are usually located on the same screen as the other.
Logged

djpenguin

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,305
cpu & ram matching
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2003, 02:54:48 AM »

Actually, DDR 400 typically does not perform as well with a 333MHz FSB as DDR 333 does.
Logged

They just keep dancing

Brutus007

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 123
cpu & ram matching
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2003, 09:07:25 AM »

thanks for all the help. Im a little unsure of myself when it comes to overclocking, so i'll probably just buy pc2700
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.065 seconds with 48 queries.