GideonTech.com Forums

  • May 27, 2022, 06:40:05 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU  (Read 24196 times)

Rippin Snare

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • http://www.cantankerouscrew.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2002, 09:52:00 PM »

awesome mate.. thanks for the quick response...

yes.. I got two IDENTICAL Crucial PC2100 DDR 256mb chips... I am glad having two chips won't cause a problem cause 256mb of ram is simply too little!

thanks for the confidence that I should get the same.. I hope so!

as well... on the topic of RAM.. you stated two chips shouldnt be a problem.. what if I were to add a third Crucial 256MB chip?  good idea or bad?

thanks again
Logged

rdrdude

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #21 on: February 17, 2002, 10:50:00 PM »

Rippin..let me know how it works out.  I want to build a similiar system.  !!
Logged

Rippin Snare

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • http://www.cantankerouscrew.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2002, 11:07:00 PM »

will do mate..

I am just waiting on my crucial ram to get to me!  as soon as it does I plan to have the system built and on to go by Wednesday nite... I will surely post how it goes on the forum for all to see!

wish me luck!

btw... excuse my ignorance.. but what the heck is a peltier?


Logged

Sirus

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #23 on: February 18, 2002, 07:05:00 AM »

I plan on doing a similar system useing the Asus P4S333 board using the SiS 645 chipset.  In the benchmarks I've seen the SiS645 gets better performance than the 845.  I'm going to start with a decent air cooler and later upgrade to water cooling.

I have two questions.

A) What speed P4 do you think I would get the best overall performance from after OCing?

B) Since the proc you used didn't throw off much heat do you think water cooling will make that much of a difference.
--------------------

Just had a thought, maybe I could rig some thermaltake active ram coolers with smaller waterblocks and loop them into the water cooling system.

<Update>
Just check prices 1.8Ghz for $193 and 2Ghz for $330.  Both with 512k L2 cache; also from vendors I've used before and trust (Accubyte and New Egg, respectively).  Was leaning twords 2Ghz before, but after seeing how cheap the 1.8Ghz is thats what I'm thiking now.
Logged

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #24 on: February 18, 2002, 07:08:00 AM »

Quote

On 2002-02-18 07:05, Sirus wrote:
I plan on doing a similar system useing the Asus P4S333 board using the SiS 645 chipset.  In the benchmarks I've seen the SiS645 gets better performance than the 845.  I'm going to start with a decent air cooler and later upgrade to water cooling.

I have two questions.

A) What speed P4 do you think I would get the best overall performance from after OCing?

B) Since the proc you used didn't throw off much heat do you think water cooling will make that much of a difference.



a)1.6a without question for the time being

b)water cooling a p4 IMO is kind of overkill. the p4 does not heat up as much as the AMDs. but some people say water cooling helps in oc'ing more...so not exactly sure if that's true since some air cooled systems are still faster than WC'd systems.
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

Rippin Snare

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • http://www.cantankerouscrew.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #25 on: February 18, 2002, 08:07:00 AM »

Hey Gideon..

just wondering.. you stated that 2 X 256mb chips shouldnt pose a problem in getting results like you did... what If I were to add another 256mb chip equalling 3 and 786MB Ram... do you think that could poss a problem to getting results like you?

As well... are you using a thermal compound at all on your cpu?

and even more so!  why did you stop at 162 FSB.. ever thought of going higher?

Logged

Sirus

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #26 on: February 18, 2002, 08:14:00 AM »

I think I'll still go water cooling.  Prolong the life of everything and keep the case temp down for the other components (I plan on eventually doing a 4 HD RAID 0+1).

Checked the price on the 1.6Ghz, $141 from a company I dont know and $148 from one I do (New Egg again).  Only about $45 difference from 1.6Ghz to 1.8Ghz.
Logged

Rippin Snare

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • http://www.cantankerouscrew.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #27 on: February 18, 2002, 08:16:00 AM »

yes... only $45 difference but no guarantee that the 1.8a will overclock like the 1.6a
Logged

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #28 on: February 18, 2002, 08:38:00 AM »

Rippin - 3 should be ok as long as the ram holds up. but most of the time, with more ram modules it gets a bit harder to oc at higher speeds from what i've seen.

Using Arctic Silver 3 on the chip which i forgot to mention in the review.

I actually hit 166, but it posted and booted into Windows, but crashed 5 minutes later. 162 is stable :)
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

Rippin Snare

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • http://www.cantankerouscrew.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #29 on: February 18, 2002, 08:41:00 AM »

nice.. so the arctic silver 3 was a good choice.  Did you put any on the "Chipset" as well?

And as for ram cooling I have the Thermaltake active and passive kits..

hmm... so you think a third ram chip may pose a problem?  But still feel that the two shouldn't?

ok.. so 162 is stable... I will just straight to that!  in fact.. I will try 163 just to outdue you!

=P

hEh.. thanks again for the response..


Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.167 seconds with 33 queries.