GideonTech.com Forums

  • May 27, 2022, 07:44:38 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8   Go Down

Author Topic: Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU  (Read 24198 times)

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« on: February 15, 2002, 01:37:00 AM »

how's 960mhz overclock sound?

http://www.gideontech.com/reviews/p4_16a/p4box2.jpg">

Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU

edit #2! - here's a 10209 3dMark2k1 score!:

http://gamershq.madonion.com/compare2k1.shtml?2760813



here are some benches of the chip at 162FSB!







_________________
AMD AYHJA 1400 @ 1520 (10X152) TBird w/SK6
(42C Idle/48C Full/~27C Room/Fans @ 7V)
4 X 120mm and 2 X 80mm Whisper Panaflos!
Epox 8KTA3Pro MB
Infineon PC133 768 SDram 5-2-2
Reference nVidia GF3 Ti200 64mb(235/525!)
3dMark2k - 7025
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

winterstick

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
    • http://winterstick.tk
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2002, 01:46:00 AM »

I won't go into the AMD side of things... but 960 Mhz is pretty damn amazing even if its only like a real gain of 300-400 mhz...

_________________
Tbird 1.4@1.53
Iwill kk266plus-r
512 Megs PC166
Geforce2 GTS 64 Meg
Fortissimo II
Logged

nightanole

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2002, 09:17:00 AM »

Eh i dont know about that real world quote.  For every 100mhz higher my 2ghz northwood ( yes i couldnt wait for the 1.6 to come out) I shave 5min off a 2 hour vcd encode with tempgen.  And ta boot ( yes i started with and) the encodes are atleast 1.5x-2x faster then when i was using my dual ghz pIII setup at 145mhz fsb, im guessing due to the new sse2 and a few other goodies.
Logged

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2002, 09:35:00 AM »

Quote

On 2002-02-15 09:17, nightanole wrote:
Eh i dont know about that real world quote.  For every 100mhz higher my 2ghz northwood ( yes i couldnt wait for the 1.6 to come out) I shave 5min off a 2 hour vcd encode with tempgen.  And ta boot ( yes i started with and) the encodes are atleast 1.5x-2x faster then when i was using my dual ghz pIII setup at 145mhz fsb, im guessing due to the new sse2 and a few other goodies.



yup, the northwood will excell in certain fields and slow down in others. it all depends on how programs are written to benefit it.
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2002, 11:02:00 AM »

i had a visitor email me saying he had better memory scores when bumping down to 125fsb. anyone tried this?

going to test it out later tonight one way or another, wondering if anyone else has one :)
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

Buen Pistolas

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 264
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2002, 05:49:00 PM »

dang--that's just crazy for a 900mhz OC....  Now... the next question is, can you do that with a 2.2ghz p4?
Logged

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2002, 05:54:00 PM »

Quote

On 2002-02-15 17:49, Buen Pistolas wrote:
dang--that's just crazy for a 900mhz OC....  Now... the next question is, can you do that with a 2.2ghz p4?


some have...
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2002, 08:43:00 PM »

updated (look above), got the chip to 162FSB!
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42

alienz

  • Case Mod Weenie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
    • http://53cleveland.org
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2002, 09:34:00 PM »

Has anyone overclocked this chip on a i850 (That's the rambus one right?) mobo? I'm interested as many sites are saying that not too distant future P4's are gonna be very limited by DDR. I'm still running a KT133, I think it's about time I be upgrading. It's been over a year! ::)
Logged

GideonX

  • Administrator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +93/-5
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,465
    • GideonTech.com
Intel P4 1.6a Ghz Northwood CPU
« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2002, 08:42:00 AM »

haven't tried it with rdram. but with mine running at 162fsb...im hittin rdram speeds :D
Logged

GTF Gallery
4 8 15 16 23 42
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.679 seconds with 33 queries.