GideonTech.com Forums

  • November 13, 2019, 08:15:29 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Wiring this fan  (Read 1174 times)

neostar63

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 402
Wiring this fan
« on: June 02, 2003, 12:39:47 PM »

Is there a way to wire this fan up in your case using the power supply.
http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bin/category.cgi?category=220&item=CF-141&type=store

It moves alot of air, so its worth a try.
Logged

kickyourfaceoff

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 728
    • http://www.livejournal.com/userinfo.bml?user=johnnyfro
Wiring this fan
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2003, 12:54:43 PM »

wire it to the 12V+ and 12V-  you should be alright

just make sure to put a grill on that, looks like it could take your finger off
Logged

Amorphus

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,346
Wiring this fan
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2003, 01:30:21 PM »

NO!  DO NOT DO THAT!

ok, first of all, that draws 24v at 1A.  vantec tornadoes draw 12v at 1A.  and we all know that having more than 1 tornado in your system hurts.

also, since it draws 1A... you will OVERLOAD the -12v rail.  most of the time the -12v rail is only like 1A anyways, and your mobo uses most of that power.

bad, bad idea.  mucho bad idea.
Logged

kickyourfaceoff

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 728
    • http://www.livejournal.com/userinfo.bml?user=johnnyfro
Wiring this fan
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2003, 02:11:03 PM »

oops my bad.  

*smaks head on desk for not thinking.
Logged

BalefireX

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +1341/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4,839
  • http://pics.aran.ws
    • pics.aran.ws
Wiring this fan
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2003, 02:18:55 PM »

You can get that fan in 12v, 24v, or 48v configuration.  Check it out.. .and fear those spikes on the fan blades... owch!

http://www.comairrotron.com/DCFans/PatriotDC.htm
Logged


nemattoad

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +5/-3
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6,044
Wiring this fan
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2003, 02:50:13 PM »

wouldnt connecting it in series to the 12V of 2 molex connectors work?
Logged
My sig goes here

ic0n

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Wiring this fan
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2003, 05:47:27 PM »

that could work.. possibly
best thing to do would be to get a test power supply, maybe 100W? you can probably get one at a swap meet or steal one out of your uncles 486

then test it on that
shouldnt mess anything up....
Logged

Nismo

  • Senior Modder
  • ***
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 251
Wiring this fan
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2003, 06:46:52 PM »

whoa 235cfm thats lots of air :o
u should test it before installing it into your computer see if anything goes wrong
Logged

ic0n

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
Wiring this fan
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2003, 06:48:08 PM »

yup :)
thats what i said
listen to us
Logged

ClearCaseMan

  • Moderator
  • Elite Modder
  • *****
  • Karma: +10/-2
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,040
    • http://www.casemodman.com
Wiring this fan
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2003, 06:50:51 PM »

Quote from: nemattoad
wouldnt connecting it in series to the 12V of 2 molex connectors work?
no it will not work the 12volt leads on the molex are all the same with the exception of having a diod seperating them
Logged


Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.088 seconds with 20 queries.