GideonTech.com Forums

  • September 18, 2019, 02:05:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about modding psu  (Read 1332 times)

*STFU*PhirstAide

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
    • http://www.teamstfu.com
Question about modding psu
« on: March 15, 2003, 12:47:37 AM »

ok, so i did what the guide said and i connected the green wire with a ground. then i hooked up a fan connected to a molex and voila, it works. now my question is this: do i always have to have something plugged into the molex when i power this up?
Logged

RentonLovesJunks

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,448
Question about modding psu
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2003, 12:51:11 AM »

if its not connected with a motherboard, yes. i would reccomend putting a momentary on/ always off switch between the 2 so you could start it up easier.

if you plan on attaching to a motherboard, no mods nessary.
Logged

outther

  • Guest
Question about modding psu
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2003, 01:30:26 AM »

It is always best to have a load on the PSU. It is trying to produce power, if there is no consumption of that power you can run into trouble. If there is no consumption of power the PSU can overload and die!
Logged

*STFU*PhirstAide

  • GT Fanatic
  • **
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
    • http://www.teamstfu.com
Question about modding psu
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2003, 01:57:34 AM »

Quote from: outther
It is always best to have a load on the PSU. It is trying to produce power, if there is no consumption of that power you can run into trouble. If there is no consumption of power the PSU can overload and die!


thanks. i never thought about it that way. still though, i'm very happy with my self for trying this and making it work.
Logged

Return_of_the_Pyro

  • Elite Modder
  • ****
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,849
Question about modding psu
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2003, 03:30:56 AM »

I have blown 1 PSU from having no power going through it...

I always have an old floppy plugged into my test PSU now.
Logged
GLOOB!
Hi! I'm a signature virus. Copy me into your signature to help me spread.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.034 seconds with 20 queries.